Guest Post: Bestselling Author Cheryl Kaye Tardif on book marketing

Today, I am excited to host Cheryl Kaye Tardif, an international bestselling suspense author of “Children of the Fog” and other great books.

Cheryl is also a guru of book marketing, and luckily for all of us, she has just released a book on marketing, titled How I Made Over $42,000 in 1 Month Selling My Kindle eBooks, where she is sharing some of the secrets of her success. It is available in Kindle edition only and is a must-have for every author involved in marketing and book promotion.

And now, on to Cheryl’s post.

_________________________

“Fake It ’til You Make It!”

In March I made more money than I’ve made in years. In fact, my income quadrupled. I’m now on par to earn more than $150,000. That’s more than my husband makes, and he makes a very good income.

I’m not bragging here. I’m still in shock over my numbers. I’m a very down-to-earth person and not one who normally quotes numbers like my own income. People who know me know I’ve never voiced how much I made over the years. Remember, I want them to perceive me as successful. If they really knew how little I was making, they may not see me that way.

“Fake it ’til you make it.” That’s something I heard years ago. It is so true! I made it my goal to always present a successful image. People are drawn to success, not failure. And more is drawn to you when you’re open to success.

However, I didn’t prance around in designer clothes, get Botox injections or audition for The Real Housewives of Edmonton, Alberta. I don’t flaunt my imaginary wealth or lie about sales. But I do use every success, no matter how small, to propel me forward. You have to give yourself a little push every now and then.

When I was nominated for the Lieutenant Governor of Alberta Arts Award in 2004, I mentioned it in press releases and during interviews. When I was featured on Celebrity Chefs and made a delicious dessert with my daughter while promoting my books, I made sure people knew about it. When I was a contestant in a wacky game show for writers, I yelled it to the rooftops. I was a one-woman ad campaign—and I’ve never stopped. After all, if I don’t promote me, who will?

I don’t profess to have all the answers. I won’t claim to have a guaranteed “program” for you to follow. I can’t say how much money you’ll earn if you do what I’ve done. I can say, though, that you’ll be better prepared to see success if you have a few things in place, and if you follow some of my marketing techniques.

Why listen to me? You don’t have to. You could listen to someone else. Just be sure they’re where you want to be, making the income you’d like to make. Mimic the success you see. I’m only here to share what I’ve learned. If it helps just one writer see a measure of success, then I’ve done what I’ve set out to do. Help others.

You see, being an author can be a lonely occupation. Many authors are introverts, shy and have problems with promoting their works and themselves. That’s not me. I’m a weird author, one of the odd ducks who loves socializing, loves helping people and though I once was a shy wallflower (I know…hard to believe), I’m not anymore.

Giving back can be a huge reward in itself, something you can’t quite put a price tag on.

*******

In March 2012, Cheryl’s supernatural thriller CHILDREN OF THE FOG made multiple international bestsellers’ lists on Amazon and placed at #4 in the Top 100 Paid Kindle bestsellers list, just under The Hunger Games trilogy.

*******

The following was excerpted from my new nonfiction marketing book, an Amazon bestseller titled How I Made Over $42,000 in 1 Month Selling My Kindle eBooks. It is available in Kindle edition only and I invite you to pick up a copy if you’re an author, especially if you’re an independent author.

You can learn more about Cheryl Kaye Tardif and her international bestselling works at http://www.cherylktardif.com and http://www.cherylktardif.blogspot.com.

Connect with Cheryl on Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/cherylktardif

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Cheryl-Kaye-Tardif-novels/29769736630

About Anna Kashina

Author
This entry was posted in Guest Interviews, Guest Posts, Publication News and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Guest Post: Bestselling Author Cheryl Kaye Tardif on book marketing

  1. Hey there! This post could not be written any better!
    Reading through this post reminds me of my previous
    room mate! He always kept talking about this.
    I will forward this post to him. Fairly certain he will
    have a good read. Many thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

